BJD to send Kalpataru, Sarojini, A U Singhdeo to Rajya Sabha

Bhubaneswar: Ending all speculations, ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) today announced the names of three candidates for Rajya Sabha seats. Dharmasala MLA and Panchayati Raj miniser Kalpataru Das, Bangiriposhi MLA and Textiles minister Sarojini Hembram and Bolangir MLA and former minister AU Singhdeo will be the BJD candidates, a party release said. Party president Naveen Patnaik has already announced the party’s support for renowned sculptor Raghunath Mohapatra for the fourth seat for which no party has the required numbers.

IPL chairman and former Jagatsinghpur MP Ranjib Biswal has been chosen the Congress candidate for the fourth seat and is expected to give a tough fight to Mohapatra. With Congress having 27 seats, and Biswal eyeing support from two independents, he is still short of one more vote to make it to the Upper House.

Similar Articles for You
Posted Under: ,

Give Responses for "BJD to send Kalpataru, Sarojini, A U Singhdeo to Rajya Sabha"